The fallen leaf

Maple leaves fallen on a lawn.

The seasons changed
And one day, the warmth of the sun fought with the chill of the earth
Everything faded into vividness of darkness and richness,
of yellows and reds

That’s when I fall on the ground,
of soft damp earth,
I await my fate.

Days go by,
smiling children play nearby,
lovers meet; lovers kiss
And till I see the sights,
I take a sigh of relief

I try to not think of the day,
the day those children and those lovers might take it away
They’ll playfully pass by and press me down on earth
and i’ll crinkle and tear like an old paper
having finally met my destiny.

I’m the fallen leaf,
I see the seasons change
And revel in the joy,
and weep for my fate.

10 thoughts on “The fallen leaf

  1. And as I heard the leaf whisper through your inks, the fingers inadvertently went tracing the maple leaf tucked away as bookmark in a decade old Robinson Crusoe hardcover. The hard pressed leaf whispered back in a muted testimony to truth in this post. Bravo!

What's on your mind? Please leave a reply.

